You do not have permission to view the management portal

In very rare situations, you may login to a user account and see "You do not have permission to view the management portal" on their screen. Depending on what you're trying to access, there are different reasons why this will appear and different ways to resolve this.

 

Care Circle Portal

If someone's trying to access the care circle portal but are seeing "You do not have permission to view the management portal" on your screen, then the user account for this care circle member no longer has the care circle role assigned to it. This typically happens when the a care circle account was deleted and recreated again because this will cause the user account to lose the care circle role, even if that wasn't intended.

Firstly, if the care circle account is still deleted, you'll need to restore their user account. Read more about restoring user accounts here: Restoring a User Account.

Secondly, you'll need to choose Accounts in the main navigation, click to open their user account, click "Change email address" on the right under "Actions", and change the email address to a fake one, such as "123@fake.null". This will unreserve the email address, allowing you to create a new user account for the care circle member. Once the email has been unreserved, you can optionally choose to delete the user account with the fake email assigned. However, please note the activity and login attempts from this user account will be lost.

If you don't see "Change email address" on the right under "Actions", then you'll need to choose Accounts in the main navigation, select Roles in the sub-menu, use the search icon in the top right to find and tick the "Allow other users to change email" permission under their user account's assigned role, and click "Preview & Save" in the bottom right.

⚠️ You will need to have the administrator role assigned to your user account to change role permissions. If you don't have access to Accounts → Roles, you'll need to ask someone else with the administrator role assigned to their user account to do this step for you.

If that still doesn't work, then you'll need to choose Accounts in the main navigation, select Roles in the sub-menu, use the search icon in the top right to find and tick the "Change other user's email address" permission under your user account's assigned role, and click "Preview & Save" in the bottom right.

⚠️ Please don't touch this permission for the carer or care circle roles

⚠️ You will need to have the administrator role assigned to your user account to change role permissions. If you don't have access to Accounts → Roles, you'll need to ask someone else with the administrator role assigned to their user account to do this step for you.

Next, we'll need to remove any care circle records that still exist for this care circle member, so we can create them from scratch in a moment. To do this:

  1. Choose Clients in the main navigation
  2. Click to open the relevant clients' records
  3. Select Care Circle in the sub-menu of each client's record
  4. Click the pencil icon on the right of the care circle member's name to open their care circle record
  5. Click the three dots in the bottom left
  6. Choose "Delete" from the dropdown

Now that their care circle records have been removed and their email address has been unreserved from any previous user accounts, we can finally setup their user account and care circle record correctly. To do this:

  1. Choose Clients in the main navigation
  2. Click to open the relevant clients' records
  3. Select Care Circle in the sub-menu of each client's record
  4. Click the + icon in the top right
  5. Enter their email address

Once done, the care circle member will receive an invite email. Please make sure they check their inbox and spam folder for this and keep it safe. They'll need to setup a password they can use to login again in future and they will no longer receive the "You do not have permission to view the management portal" message on their screen when they login.

 

Carer Companion App

If someone's trying to access the carer companion app but are seeing "You do not have permission to view the management portal" on their screen, then there's three possible reasons:

  • They're logging in the wrong place
  • They haven't installed the carer companion app
  • There's a web browser above the carer companion app

 

They're logging in the wrong place

Carers need to login through the carer companion app installed on their phone, not the management portal that's accessed through a web browser. Once installed, the carer companion app should be called "CareLineLive" on their home screen and they can tap on it to open it.

 

They haven't installed the carer companion app

In this case, they will need to install/download the "CareLineLive" mobile app from the app store for iOS or the play store for Android. Read more about installing the carer companion app here: Installing the App.

 

There's a web browser above the carer companion app

This ordinarily only happens if they've tried to use the Forgotten Password feature (because that opens a web browser appear above the carer companion app) and try to login before closing the web browser. To fix this, they'll need to close the web browser by tapping the 'X', '<', or '←' icon. This is typically found in a prominent place, such as the top left or bottom of the screen. Once closed, it will reveal the carer companion app hidden beneath.

 

Management Portal

If you're trying to access the management portal but are seeing "You do not have permission to view the management portal" on your screen, then there's three possible reasons:

  • You've logged into the wrong user account
  • Your user account wasn't assigned a role
  • Your assigned role isn't permitted to view the management portal

 

You've logged into the wrong user account

Some agencies may hire staff who both deliver care visits with the carer companion app and allocate bookings on the roster through the management portal. Typically, we recommend these staff use the same user account for both situations because one user account can be assigned multiple roles, it keeps all your information in one convenient place, your data isn't duplicated, and it makes it harder to forget any login information. 

If you've opted to have two user accounts, for example, you may receive this message on your screen if you accidentally login to your carer account rather than your office account. In this case, you'll need to logout of your carer account and login to the office account instead.

 

Your user account wasn't assigned a role

  1. Ask an administrator to open the management portal
  2. Choose Accounts in the main navigation
  3. Click to open your user account
  4. Click Manage roles on the right under Actions
  5. Choose at least one role (which isn't carer or care circle) from the dropdown
  6. Click Save

⚠️ To ensure your environment is kept secure, we recommend assigning the role with the fewest possible permissions wherever possible, and only increasing permissions and roles where absolutely necessary

 

Your assigned role isn't permitted to view the management portal

  1. Ask an administrator open the management portal
  2. Choose Accounts in the main navigation
  3. Select Roles in the sub-menu
  4. In the top right, click the search icon
  5. Search for "View management portal"
  6. Tick the "View management portal" permission under the relevant role
  7. Click "Preview & Save" in the bottom right

⚠️ Please don't touch this permission for the carer or care circle roles

⚠️ You will need to have the administrator role assigned to your user account to change role permissions. If you don't have access to Accounts → Roles, you'll need to ask someone else with the administrator role assigned to their user account to do this step for you.